2006 Mahoney Vineyards Las Brisas Pinot Noir

Mission Codename: Like the wind

Operative: Agent Red

Objective: Return to Mahoney Vineyards and retrieve their closely-held Las Brisas Carneros Pinot Noir

Mission Status: Accomplished!

Current Winery: Mahoney Vineyards

Wine Subject: 2005 Carneros Pinot Noir – Las Brisas Vineyard

Vineyard: Mahoney Ranch Vineyard

Winemaker: Ken Foster

Backgrounder: The Carneros region, which straddles Napa and Sonoma Counties, is famous for producing incredible wines. Particularly Pinot Noir. We first fell in love with Mahoney Pinot Noir when we first met them last year. Today, we are thrilled to bring you their winery-only 2006 Las Brisis Pinot Noir. Today’s Mahoney Pinot is the finest that Agent Red has sampled. Take advantage of this very special offer. Today’s wine will never be available outside of the winery again. Read Agent Red’s tasting profile and mission report to learn what makes today’s wine so fantastic

Wine Spies Tasting Profile:

Look – Dark garnet, with sparkling edges and a perfect clarity through its slightly darker heart. When swirled, the wine shows a tightly springy surface that settles fast, leaving behind wide-spaced cluster of skinny legs that move streak down the sides of the glass

Smell – Lush and warm with bright red fruits of ripe Bing cherry, raspberry and smoky cranberry, with darker mixed berries, soft leather, soft spice and soft gunpowder

Feel – Round and silky up front, then wet and tender on the mid-palate where soft tannins gently grip in with a soft minerality

Taste – Balanced and delicious with ripe red cherry and strawberry leading the way. These flavors linger as smoky and dark mixed berries mingle with soft oak, softest spice, leather and minerals also make subtle appearances

Finish – A long and full finish that starts off sweet and then tails off to slightly tart, with dusky fruit flavors that go on and on

Conclusion – This is a fantastic Pinot Noir from one of our favorite Carneros Pinot producers. With this wine, Mahoney shows us a more richly complex Pinot Noir than we have tasted from them previously. I must say, that I was in love at first sniff. This wine shows plenty of great character, all enveloped within great fruit and a lush feel. This is a flexible wine that is a perfect solo-sipper – but is also extremely food friendly. We enjoyed our review bottles with a plate of fruit and assorted cheeses. The wine held up perfectly, complimenting – and being complimented by – our delicious snack. Neither overpowered the other. If you are a lover of really fine Pinot Noir, this wine gets a very enthusiastic Wine Spies recommendation!

Prior Mission Recap:

The following is a retransmission of our original mission to Mahoney Vineyards, in which Agent Red first becomes acquainted with the winery. On this previous mission, he discovered Mahoney’s Haire Vineyard Pinot. He like that wine, but loves today’s Mahoney Las Brisas Pinot Noir even more.

I make no bones about it, I sometimes find Agent White’s discussions on upgrading our W.I.N.E. (Wine Internet Nexus Engine) system, frightfully boring. The W.I.N.E. system is our proprietary and top secret system that, in simple terms, assists us in finding superior wines for our Operatives.

Making my way to the computer lab, I took a deep breath and braced myself for another of Agent White’s endless soliloquy’s.

Agent White was grinning widely. A bad sign to be sure.

“Ready to begin?” he asked.

“Uh, sure,” I lied.

“I’ve been working on a new algorithm that will make it easier to determine the likelihood that future vintages of particular wines will be better than previous vintages.”

“Wonderful,” I said. “Sounds great! Let me know know how that turns out.”

“Let S be any finite set, ƒ be any function from S to itself, and x0 be any element of S. For any i > 0, let xi = ƒ(xi−1). Let μ be the smallest index such that the value xμ reappears infinitely often within the sequence of values xi, and let λ (the loop length) be the smallest positive integer such that xμ = xλ+μ. The cycle detection problem is the task of finding λ and μ.”

I blinked at him, suddenly realizing that the blank expression on my face probably revealed my disinterest.

He went on: “I call this my Tortoise and the hare algorithm.

’Hare’… ‘hare’… That reminded me of a well-regarded vineyard I had recently heard of, Haire Vineyard.

Perking up, I grabbed my spy-handheld and, pretending to take notes as Agent White droned happily on. I punched in “Haire Vineyard” and set the Nexus to work. In an instant, a few wines and wineries were revealed. I narrowed my search based on my own favorite search criteria and was presented with a single result:

Mahoney Vineyards. 2004. Carneros Pinot Noir. Haire Vineyard.

As I read about the wine, I nodded and made “mmm, hmmm” sounds. The wine seemed fascinating and I logged a mission request with HQ.

I’ll spare you the rest of Agent White’s discourse. Needless to say, if it hadn’t been for his lecture, I never would have found today’s really superb Pinot Noir.

The Carneros region has consistently wowed me with its quality wine production – particularly Pinot production. Today’s wine is a beautiful example of delicious Carneros Pinot.

end prior mission recap

Afterword: We hope that you enjoy today’s wine, Mahoney’s 2006 Mahoney Vineyards Las Brisas Pinot Noir. It is delicious!.

Wine Spies Winery Check:

You can taste Mahoney wines at Oxbow in Napa, California, which is shown in this satellite photo.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

